0 items / $0.00

Dee Snider-We Are The Ones CD

$10.00 On sale

Image of Dee Snider-We Are The Ones CD

Dee Snider "We Are The Ones" Album
1. We Are The Ones
2. Over Again
3. Close To You
4. Rule The World
5. We're Not Gonna Take It (Acoustic)
6. Crazy For Nothing
7. Believe
8. Head Like A Hole
9. Superhero
10. So What

One thing you won’t ever catch Dee Snider doing is being complacent. “I’ve never been about living in the past,” Snider says. “The past is wonderful to reflect on and enjoy, but for me, I’d rather show you the latest thing I’ve been working on. I’m all about looking ahead, and this new record is very much about me moving forward.”

Snider’s vibrant new solo album, We Are The Ones, is scheduled for an October release on Red River Records distributed by BFD / RED. Produced by Damon Ranger, We Are The Ones crackles with modern energy, from the call-to-arms manifesto of ‘Rule the World’ to the anthemic bonding of ‘So What’ (complete with, yes, a string section) to the intensely synth-driven ‘Close to You’ to the thematically soaring ‘Superhero’ (a song tailor-made for running over the end credits of the next Marvel or DC movie blockbuster if ever there was one).

Snider loves the sound of where he’s going with We Are The Ones. “I feel pretty bold in not taking what I think is the easy path at this point (recording ‘new classic rock,’ doing a country album, etc.), and instead confronting the current music scene head-on by making great contemporary rock music,” he notes. “And the album’s message is very much on point with the things I’ve always been singing about. I’m hoping by moving forward as a solo artist with stuff like this, that the songwriting and performances will stand up to the best of what’s going on today. I want to earn my place in the current music scene.”

Snider saw fit to reclaim the original intentions of his best-known song, ‘We’re Not Gonna Take It,’ by stripping it down to the core. “The re-recording of ‘We’re Not Gonna Take It’ was designed to be a battle cry that expresses the world’s ongoing frustration,” Dee clarifies. “It’s my observation on how things haven’t changed enough. I’m not going to say nothing has changed, but it’s been like pulling teeth. It’s amazing: The more things change, the more they stay the same — but as far as we’ve come, we also see how little distance we’ve gone.”

Ultimately, with We Are The Ones, Snider is targeting a new generation while also looking to galvanize his loyal fan base. “I like aligning myself with the thinking of young people,” he affirms. “And I’m hoping this new audience that knows me more from reality TV than they do from my old band will go, ‘Oh, this guy does new music too? Cool.’ It’s definitely me moving toward a new world as a performer. But I also want to reach anyone — old and new fans alike — who wants to come on the journey with me. If you’re a Twisted Sister fan and willing to accept something new, then come along for the ride. There’s plenty for my longtime fans to enjoy on this record.”

Snider is unapologetically energized about where he’s going as an artist. “Music inspires that genuine enthusiasm. I’m not anti the past — I’m just not one of those guys sitting there singing about the glory days. To me, these are the glory days, and the days to come are the glory days. And this new record is the part of my next glory days.”

It sure is. We Are The Ones opens an exciting new chapter in the ongoing, never-ending glorious saga of Dee Snider. And that’s how you come to rule the world.